Amirul Asyraf

Why not now ?


At the time of writing, I'm still on semester 2 Computer Science degree. I still remember that when I was 15 years old, this is my dream to enter the Computer Science world. My dream to create something that can help me automate my daily task. My dream to create my idea live. My dream to write software like painting an art.

Unfortunately, a Computer Science degree didn't teach you that. If you are a self-taught developer, I did not recommend entering a Computer Science degree. What I can recommend is to take other courses like art, music or business, and self-taught programming in your free time. Do not waste your four years with boring and weird courses. But that is not what I want to highlight in this writing.

note: maybe my writing is based on the Computer Science degree. But I will try my best to give a universal example.

I want to talk about "doing something you want now". In computer science degree, they created a false myth to students that if I want to create software, mobile apps, or website, you need to spend your time first on 1 semester to learn about Computer System Architecture, 1 semester to learn about Operating Systems, 1 semester to learn about Data Structure and Algorithm and yada yada. You know that 1 semester is equivalent to four-month !!!. You need to spend four years then you can do that stuff. Yucky.

Yup, you need that all knowledge. But not all of them are useful on your use case. I am a self-learner, I can tell you that all four years of computer science degree stuff can learn in just three to six months. Or even in one year only!!!.

My derivation to take a Computer Science degree is to make things. Make my idea live. Not answering the shitty exam and understanding the boring PowerPoint slide. I can tell you that there are three type of people in this faculty. Mathematician, physician, and Hackers. As a hacker, you are very stubborn. You do not like existing tools, ideas, or software, and simply build it with your own cool idea. Hacker is not a bad guy as you thought, hackers make things!!.

And I can assure you that a Computer Science degree does not create this kind of ecosystem. An ecosystem where people make things, Shipping things, learn from others, hacking things, build startup, do a side project, and yada yada. As DHH says, "Talk is cheap, show me the code".

So, I want to start making things now. I do not want to wait until I graduate and do that shit for the sake of showing it to recruiters.

For this year, I think I want to build my own link shortener. So, the link will be using this domain name (link.asyrafff.com/hfsSD89F). Cool tho. Make my own version. There are a lot of things I can explore on this. Also, I want to create my own Lofi web app, chrome extension, metronome and so on. I am a fan of Lofi and pop songs. Awesome. And much more side projects idea!!.

Sometimes, people are overthinking about making things. They want to create the next operating system, recruitment platform based on artificial intelligence, start an online business, make a successful blog, write a thriller novel, wanna be a professional writer, and so on.

Those things will make you in an infinite loop of problems unless you make your first step and break those things into a small achievable goal.

We have two options in our hands, First to wait for the perfect moment and the second one is to take the present moment and make it perfect. In those perfect moments, you find the beauty you never knew existed if you take a first and small step.

Whatever you want to do, do it soonest possible. Don’t wait for the perfect time, the perfect moment, the perfect day. It doesn’t exist. We're all perfectly imperfect. Whatever you want to do, do it now. Don't use the excuse of waiting for the perfect timing to procrastinate. Perfection is not for this world. So before you end up miserable because you’ve been stuck waiting, act on it. Let the Almighty be your Guide.

Don't wait for things to get easier, simpler, better. Life will always be complicated. Learn to do it now. Otherwise, you'll run out of time. Do your best and lay your trust in the Almighty & let Him guide you, have faith in the journey. Quit procrastinating. Stop putting things off.

"Admit it. We are all impatient. We want results right now to everything that’s going on in our lives. The reality is – it doesn’t work that way. Stay on course. The Almighty will make sure the moment comes. Not one second, sooner!" - Mufti Ismail Menk

So often in life, we feel like we can delay things & do them much later.

But we may never have the same opportunities again.

This life is so transient.

Here today, gone tomorrow.

You’ve seen that happen.

So best to do it now!

No need to focus on what others screaming or yelling. Just focus!

Tick says the clock, tick-tick! What you have to do, do quick!


Follow me on Twitter || RSS

#computer science #life #now