Amirul Asyraf

Recently (Sept Week 4 + Oct Week 1)


We are back to a Recently article. This version is special because I combine two weeks before, Sept Week 4 and Oct Week 1. Though, the past two weeks have been filled with a lot of activity.

I am so happy that I have released my second song!!!! I called it Just a Girl. The inspiration for this song came when I studied chord progressions. To be honest, I don't know much about music theory. Therefore, I learned how to make chord progressions by watching YouTube videos. It took several tries and a lot of mistakes, but I came up with an interesting chord progression, to which you can listen when you hear the piano sound. After that, I added a reverb to it, and voila! I have a great sound. I talk more about Just a Girl here(soon).

Having released my second song, I have thought of making an EP. Usually, an album contains at least 7 songs and runs for at least 25 minutes, while an EP (Extended Play) usually contains 4-6 songs and runs for about 30 minutes. In short, EP is shorter than a full album, so-called "Mini Albums". There are some artists who say they want to release an album, but they may really mean an EP. I'd much prefer the term "Album" to "EP" tho. My observation is that most EPs have an average length of three songs. I have already written two of my own. Hopefully, I will be adding 2 or 3 more over the next month so that I can complete my first EP (mini-album) titled "Experiment".

Here's the bad news. My university requires me to return to the college for a hybrid model of learning for the next semester 3. It means that the lecture will be online, but the tutorial and lab will take place in person as well as online. As international students cannot attend university sooner given this Covid-19 crisis, online learning will become the default option. Having said that, I am very comfortable learning online since it allows me to achieve a lot more in a shorter amount of time. I don't need to commute in order to attend lectures, tutorials, computer classes, and so forth. It saves me a lot of time and makes my life easier. However, really, things are beyond my control unless I am the Minister of Education, haha.

The situation affords me a new opportunity as well. It affords me the opportunity to meet new friends especially music enthusiasts and musicians. At the moment, I am working alone, I am the composer and producer. Looking for a great partner to create a great Malaysian band called The Partial. It's cool, though. In addition to musical friends, I'm looking for someone who can help me with an academic subject because my mind is already on things outside the university, haha. With this type of friend, I will be able to get myself back on track if I lose my way. The last kind of friend I want is someone who is already experienced in real-world life. I am not looking for gamers or high achievers, but rather someone who has worked on startups, either before as an intern, freelancer, or as the founder himself.

next week

I want to share about exercism.org. This is such an insane cool website to learn programming for free. My primary focus right now is to skill up my Ruby skills. Even though my university teach me Java, still, I can google and learn it fast whenever needed, haha. This will be my everyday learning task.

The week ahead will be fun.

Bye 👋

The end


Follow me on Blue Bird || RSS

#recently