Amirul Asyraf

🧘‍♀️ Distraction-free New Tab


Nowadays, the web is full of distractions. Emails, news, social media, shitty ads, and yada yada. Even opening a New Tab is distracting.

Right now, we have daily.dev, a Web extension that will get you the hottest coding news from the best tech blogs on any topic you can think of in every new tab.

Or panda, your favorite website in one place. Either on its website or in New Tab.

The motive is to

Haha.

All I want to say is, "it is Ok to keep up with all that stuff". Yeah, you can do that. I do not give any warning to you to do that thing 😂.

But, as the web and world already bloated with tons of stuff. I have a tendency to be a minimal person. I want to remove stuff from my life. I want to spend my free time doing nothing.

I wanted to go back to the days where you could have about:blank as your new tab and it would show you a plain white page. Like a fresh sheet of paper waiting for you to write on.

If you use Firefox or Safari then you can go into the settings and select “Blank Page” (Firefox) or “Empty Page” (Safari) and that’s it, job done. But Google Chrome doesn’t let you do that. Instead, you have to use an extension.

Screenshot 2021-04-23 at 06.59.22.png This is for Safari


Because of that, I made my own Chrome Extension. I name it Blank New Tab 🔥.

Screenshot 2021-04-23 at 06.22.33.png

Screenshot 2021-04-23 at 06.22.47.png

newtabgif2.gif

newtabgif.gif

Its have what I needed;

✅ Blank page in New Tab

✅ Same background color as other native Chrome tabs

✅ Same title as the default new tab page ("New tab")

✅ Dark Mode button

At first, I do not want to put the dark mode button as I want it to be auto-dark depends on the system. But, as I share this extension with my friend, they request me to add a dark mode button.

So, I say "Why not". As it aligns with my first motivation to have a new blank tab. For me, the toggle button does not distract me at all. So yeah, I just build it.

All I can say after building this extension is, finally I can do boring stuff in my free time!!. Playing guitar, read books, and walking at the park.

Give it a try !!!

Blank New Tab - 🧘‍♀️ Distraction-free New Tab 🔥 | Product Hunt

The End


Follow me on Twitter || RSS

#minimalism #stuff I made